PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Dog Portrait & Problem with Fur Detail

Dez_1984
09-27-2012, 09:58 AM
I am a freelance artist and commission pet portraits and have done now for about 6 months. However, I am still not quite there yet in terms of my technique and i'm struggling with something in particular. I wondered if anyone here may be able to offer me advice on how I can get around my problem which seems to be holding me back and dwindling my confidence.

My issue is with fur! I am astounded by the detail that some of you fellow artists are getting in your work with fur! I've tried and tried and tried again to perfect fur like that and I just cannot seem to fathom how to do it. I do know one important thing is to remember to observe the growth direction of the fur and follow it with the strokes of the pastel pencils. But how do you make it look like you can see every strand? Surely it is impossible to draw every strand you see from a photgraph?

I am currently trying to do a labrador dog (i've tried to attach photos of the work so far, but they wont upload - please email me and i will send them) but im really stuck on how to get this fur effect. The wet fur on his head is proving very dificult. Could anyone please suggest how I could get around this? I'm using Daler-Rowney Canford Pastel paper.

Also, the pastel pencils dont seem to be taking to the paper i'm using. Im really struggling to get the colour to stick. I layed down the lightest blue colour first where the majority of that colour was on the photograph, then attempted to fill in the gaps around it to make it stand out. But having applied one colour as a base, the other colours are not taking to the paper on top.

Help! - from one very distressed artist :)

Thank you

Dez Wilson
(Chesterfield, UK)

Colorix
09-27-2012, 11:18 AM