PDA

View Full Version : Self hardening clay

Oliane
06-18-2001, 04:40 PM
Is anyone familiar with self-hardening clay? It's supposed to become super-hard without firing. I tried working with some the other day, but when my project began to dry, it cracked. Also, I got some of the dried clay wet (purposely) to see if the project would disintegrate and it did!!! I'm wondering if painting or glazing the finished product would keep that from happening or if I should just break down and use clay that needs to be fired. Any input?

Michelle

PS--please excuse me if my questions are ignorant. I'm an oil painter who has decided to try her hand at sculpture.

artman2384
06-27-2001, 03:26 PM
Oliane
i have never actually used the self hardning clay never really wanted to.But i have used a green colored clay that is very hard to work with that way it wont fall apart.but once you start working with it,it becomes softer but when you are done and let it set it gets hard again.you should try it:)

pixelscapes
06-27-2001, 11:01 PM
I've been very disappointed with all of the self-hardening clays I've tried. I had been trying to use them for my fossil slab sculptures...

But, I've recently begun using Winterstone, which is basically a souped-up cement mix for artists. Take a look at my old post about it:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2261

It really does dry rock hard (of course! It's cement!) and the pieces I left submerged in water for a few weeks seem OK. I'd still rather seal them thoroughly with a regular concrete sealant though, just in case... and, don't use it to make any food or beverage containers, needless to say. *gulp*

-=- Jen "Fossilizing" de la Cruz

Oliane
06-28-2001, 10:41 AM
Ooo! I've got to get some of that Winterstone! I checked out their website and it sounds fabulous. Thanks! :clap:

pixelscapes
07-08-2001, 02:38 PM
Post again after you try it, let us know how it works out for you?