PDA

View Full Version : Gouache vs Gouache-Tempera

vamsi
09-08-2012, 08:35 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new on WetCanvas (finding out that here is so many nice people), and want to ask a question, as I'm really new in watercolor/gouache world.

My interests started with watercolors and I bought few Horadam Schmincke tubes some weeks ago. Than I found that Gouaches can be really beautiful (never tought of them like that), and want to experiment with them.

Two major companies can be bought in my country (not considering chinese gouaches) are Akademie Line Schmincke (there is no Horadam line here nor Designers) and Talens's Gouache-Tempera (I think ArtCreation line).

What is the difference between Gouache and Gouache-Tempera?

My main concerne is that I didn't like tempera when I started working as illustrator for living in mid '90s, and in '00. switched to digital painting. But I became kind of sick of CG images and want to go back to roots, traditional media (at least for my own personal satisfaction).

I would like to stick with Schmincke but Akademie line is lowest in quality among them and have limited pallete.

Thank you all very much for reading this and potential answers.
Vamsi

vamsi
09-11-2012, 06:54 AM
Hi there,
70 views and no one knows the answer.

Or simply don't want to bother to reply.

Thanks anyway.

Yorky
09-11-2012, 07:19 AM
I have noe experience of Egg Tempera so I can't help I'm afraid.

Doug

Merritt
09-11-2012, 08:54 AM
I myself use nothing but Windsor & Newton gouache yet Schmincke is also a brand of gouache I have no hesitation in recomending. Gouache is completely different to work with than egg tempera in my opinion.

Studio-1-F
09-11-2012, 09:10 AM
Hi there,
70 views and no one knows the answer.

Or simply don't want to bother to reply.

Thanks anyway.