PDA

View Full Version : absolute beginner

zydecocat
08-08-2003, 04:45 PM
I just bought my first set of pastels today: oil pastels (because I couldn't face possibly getting something dusty/chalky).

Any basic tips for handling? blending? (I bought stumps) fixing?

I've read many suggestions for papers and am frankly a little overwhelmed that I will need to do further shopping to get started.

What are the top things I need to avoid? (For example, when blending, how far can I go before I end up with brown muck?)
Are OPs sticky, gummy, slippery, ready to smear off your support?

Thanks in advance. (This is my very first post on WC.)

Zydecocat

jimb
08-08-2003, 04:51 PM
I've nver worked with oil pastels, only the dry ones. There will be someone stopping by I'm sure that knows all about them. I just wanted to say Welcome!

nougat
08-08-2003, 04:58 PM
Welcome Zydecocat!!! and double welcome to oil pastels!!!
There's a sticky at the top of the page full of invaluable advice to all OP-ers!!

I can't offer any replies to your questions cos OPs vary from one brand to another!!
I use a box I bought from a dept store more that 30 years ago when I was 10!! I use pastel paper but prefer a smooth surface!

good luck and show us something soooon!!!
nadine

Mo.
08-08-2003, 04:58 PM
Hi there... and a warm welcome to you ....so many newbies popping in tonight, this is really great to see.....