GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Something in the flowers - WIP
Year Created:
Medium: Digital
Surface: Computer
Dimension: 2200x2500 pix
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is a composite picture made from different references that I shot in the same light. It's not finished and I may take to oils at a later stage. I'm using digital to sort out the structure, lighting and general composition. A lot of the flowers are very rough at the moment.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
What I'd really like help on is making sure that the object all gel together especially with the lighting. Tear it apart please - I don't get upset very easily.

Dana Design
09-04-2012, 02:15 PM
Moved this to WIPs.

Candra H
09-05-2012, 11:40 AM
Ah, I just spotted this so feel free to ignore my comment in the Chat/Debate Thread.

I cant really comment on the digital side of it because I'm no expert but I like the idea of the composition so far. I'm just wondering if the girl isn't being drowned by those large white peony type flowers at the top and bottom corners.

Maybe when you get to the oil painting stage, bring the girl forward with stronger contrasts on her lighting to balance that out, and also add some cast shadows from the foreground flower onto her so she looks like she belongs in the picture.

Black Spot
09-06-2012, 01:09 PM
Thank Candra. Great thing with digital and having everything on different layers is that you can move them about. Is it better like this?

Candra H
09-07-2012, 01:19 PM
Thats much better, definitely.

Are you going to change the lighting on her face though? At the moment it's very dark compared to everything else, and I think even if she's hidden among the flowers, her face should stand out more.

Black Spot
09-07-2012, 02:24 PM