PDA

View Full Version : Surface Prep???

KamaraDesigns
08-07-2003, 02:46 PM
Hi! I'm pretty new to acrylics (I've done two paintings) but I'd like to start using acrylics in conjunction with my pastel work (as a background and for underpainting). I was curious about surface preparation. I have quite a bit of Hot Press finished Bainbridge Board I inherited from a friend. I was wondering what I could do to use this in a acrylic/pastel painting. I have clear gesso I use with pastel paper to add tooth and I was wondering if I could prepare the Bainbridge board using this as well. The acrylic would be used as washes and fairly thin.

Thanks!! Kim

talkingbanana
08-09-2003, 01:24 AM
Should work. Acrylics don't necessairly need gesso; they can go on just about anything.

KamaraDesigns
08-09-2003, 11:08 AM
Won't acrylics warp the board without the gesso??? Just curious.

I did go ahead and apply a clear gesso and sand mixture to one side (more texture for the pastels) and just gesso on the back. There was some warping when I only gessoed one side. Once I gessoed the back the board flattened out.

Thanks, Kim

Leslie Pz
08-09-2003, 11:26 AM
I've had boards warp, even with gesso... it depends how wet you make it; I used a LOT of water and that tends to dampen the gesso, a bit too.

In the case of warping, place the painting flat and let it dry completely. Should flatten out, again. In the past, it's worked for me.

Good luck!
-Les

PS When I first started painting, I was once told that acrylics will slide off "the" surface without a gesso-ed surface... that's never happened to me but did scare me, at first!

chucks888
08-09-2003, 05:39 PM
As recommended by every illustration teacher I've had- cold press illustration board is what you'll want to use with acrylics. Why? I'm not really sure. Hot press yields a smoother slick surface which I don't personally like, so I don't argue :D

KamaraDesigns
08-09-2003, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Leslie Pz