PDA

View Full Version : What are your MUST HAVES?

Maryeve
08-07-2003, 09:36 AM
I am getting ready to apply for some Grant Money to further my professional art career. I can apply for up to 3500 dollars.

I specialize in portraits, and as most of you know, I am very very new to pastels. I therefore have a limited supply.

I have fallen in love with this medium and really want to fine tune this. I have to itemize and give specific dollar amounts.

This said. WHAT should be on my wish/need list? As far as pastels, equipment, lighting, videos, classes..heck..anything you deem as things you really can't live without or wish you had.

I appreciate all of your input.

Mary

jgarroyo
08-07-2003, 10:07 AM
hi,
the daniele greene videos are a must have! if you already don't own one, an easel that tilts foward to avoid falling pastel dust. you may want to order a sampler pastel set before buying a full set. Nupastel, in my opinion, is needed if you do any detailed work. i use rembrandts, schminke, and unison.dakota pastels (http://www.dakotapastels.com) has a chart listing softest to hardest which is important when ordering. you may also want to pick up thepastel journal (http://www.pasteljournal.com) magazine. they include alot of tips and help.
lots of luck.

Kathryn Wilson
08-07-2003, 04:07 PM
Hi Maryeve: Since we live in the same state, I would like to ask if it is state grant money??? Just curious, I could use some grant money to keep this going. Please embellish . . . pretty please?

Maryeve
08-08-2003, 06:41 AM
It is granted by the Charlotte/Mecklenburg Arts and Science council to surrounding counties..

I KNOW there are Grants to be had in Wake Co. Try calling the artscouncil, or maybe Artspace and ask if they know of any grant money!

I don't know if I will get it, but I figure, it is worth a shot. Im not telling anyone around here that Im applying (well Yall, I mean in real life..)