PDA

View Full Version : crazymakers

Gorilla
11-09-2000, 03:14 AM
In addition to being a full time artist, I am involved in a regional art group(president)which provides an art center and gallery, adult and children's workshops, and juried exhibitions. I enjoy the volunteer work and know that the time is well spent promoting the arts in an artless community.
The term crazymaker really struck a nerve with me since this organization breeds them.
To set aside time to work(colored pencil) and direct these community efforts is an exercise in avoiding sabotage from these personalities described in AW as crazymakers. The energy required to avoid and protect one's space and focus from these disruptive characters could be used in a more productive way.
How do you deal with fellow artists or friends who require total attention from others dealing with "their" crisis of the day? By the way, everyone gets to have have an occasional crisis.
One of our members, a textbook variety crazymaker, can make one phone call that creates a chain reaction resulting in hours of phone interuptions. She is satisfied and powerful.
I realize the term is used in the creative block context, but blocked or not, these personalities cut in our productivity.
Anyone have war stories?

nancymae
11-09-2000, 11:41 AM
I deal with crazymakers in a variety of ways....one...voice mail. When I am in my creative spirit...I DO NOT answer the phone. I don't care who it is. NOTHING, short of death, is that important to take me away. I will deal with them when I feel it is appropriate. I even unplug the phone so the ringing doesn't disturb me while I am painting. (but usually I have the stereo up so loud, and am singing while I paint, I usually don't hear it anyway!!)