PDA

View Full Version : OPs & Galkyd?

staggerlee
08-17-2012, 07:24 PM
For fun and sake of ease in a newly hands full day I have moved to OPs from oil painting. However would like to transfer some of my techniques (?) to my new favorite medium, also am interested in the fixative possibilities of using Galkyd w/ OPs. any one have info/ tips?

Did try to do a search for previous mentions, found nothing, a point in the right direction if you know of any threads would be greatly appreciated. will also try contacting Gamblin too, usu very helpful.

Thanks mucho!

halthepainter
08-18-2012, 07:23 AM
Hi Stagger, Welcome to the OP forum. I hope you'll join in and be a regular contributor here.

I haven't worked with Galkyd. I've heard of a few people who have worked with Liquin and one person claimed that he could create a surface, using Liquin, that didn't require the painting to be framed under glass.

I'm an art fair artist and am always on the quest to frame without glass to reduce glare and weight of the framed artwork. Twenty or thirty paintings under glass is quite a load.

The only solution that has worked for me, so far, has been to spray my completed work with Grumbacher Final Fixative (four or five coats and smells like model airplane dope). Once no more color comes up with a gentle rubbing, I paint the surface with Golden's self levelling gel. This leaves a hard gloss surface and if I want a mat finish, I'll paint this last surface with an acrylic mat medium.

Beware the varnishes that smell like varnish or solvents. Those have turned my work sticky or tacky. Also the spray fixatives that smell like solvents have left my oil pastels tacky. Of course these tacky paintings I can still frame under glass. They would be no worse than soft pastels.

staggerlee
08-18-2012, 11:19 AM
Thanks Hal, that is one of my "hmm, I wonder"s, the fixative aspect, esp b/c I do a lot of my work in sketchbooks I make (or rather am starting to use the OPs in there).