PDA

View Full Version : Using mat boards for use with grounds?

Seaspray
08-13-2012, 08:53 PM
I have found these message boards to be an invaluable wealth of info...and have learned so much from all of you, as I have been working with soft pastels for these past two years. Thank you all so very much.

I have found that I like to work with sanded papers...for a while Wallis, but now UArt 400. I would like to make something similar myself, so I have paper to practice and play around with...not to use for a "final" painting.

Although I have read about the process of making our own papers and boards with mixtures of gesso, marble dust or pumice...I think I know the various mixtures.... I am curious about using mat board as the basis for making these boards..,would I need to put gesso on the back of the board first so it will not warp? Or is there something else I should use instead of gesso? Also....I have piles of old watercolor paintings (the piles are high!!!)..could I use the 140 lb. watercolor paper with gesso or something else on the back to prevent warping??

Thanks for your feedback.
Carol

Potoma
08-13-2012, 09:39 PM
I've used mat board, which was essentially cut to size. The edges did warp. If the board was cut larger before coating and trimmed later, it'd be fine with nothing on the back.

I worked small (4x6, 5x7, 5x5) with these coated matboards, taping them down to larger masonite boards for painting. What I found that worked on these sizes was that the paper front/medium/painting would easily peel off the rest of the mat layers and I could frame them very easily that way. It's unconventional, but I did it for three. Is better to frame than creating an insert in another board to fit it behind a mat.

DAK723
08-13-2012, 10:41 PM
Don't forget that if you don't want to make your own surface mixtures, that you can buy primer already mixed and ready to brush on the paper or board of your choice.