GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Grandfathers Pride
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 17 inch x 21 inch
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is my my second attempt at oil painting, It is painted from a photo of my grandfather that was on the front page of the Hampshire Gazette ( my local newspaper in easthampton MA ) The photo it from that years veterans day parade. He participates in the parade every year. He is very proud of his military involvement in the korean war. I am a new artist, never picked up a pencil to draw before Jan 2012, I took a drawing class...loved it, so here I am trying to teach myself to oil paint. I don't really know any painters so help would be much appreciated. Thanks for looking, thanks even more if you comment!

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I would honestly like any comment on any type of problem I may have, color, composition, brushwork, contrast, likeness, anything!

dfp819
08-05-2012, 02:49 PM
sorry about the very large photo's, at least on my browser i can only see part of them at a time. So here are some resized ones...
Thanks for looking!

Bellaskye
08-05-2012, 05:48 PM
For being brand new to oil painting and drawing this is great!! My only crits are to maybe add more dimension/shape and color values to his hair as it reads flat. Also inside nostrils are never black and there is always some variance in there. Keep painting you are doing wonderful! Welcome to Wet Canvas!:clap:

dfp819
08-05-2012, 05:59 PM
Thanks for the quick response, suggestions and encouragement. you are right about the hair and the nostril, I will try to fix them. I will certainly be continuing to paint! :thumbsup:

Aires
08-05-2012, 06:26 PM