PDA

View Full Version : Which brand of pastel pencils

GrammyJ42
08-02-2012, 01:14 PM
I'm learning to use pastels and currently have a set of 24 student grade sticks, which is my workhorse set, a set of Prismacolor (24) when I need more detail, and a set of Giaconda pencils, which I purchased at Michaels. I'm adding to that collection bit by bit, as my retirement income will allow, and most recently added the Blick artist grade portrait set. My question concerns the pencils. When I am ready to replace them, what set should I get? Or should I just get a few individual pencils -- assuming they can be purchased that way -- and thus have the specific colors I need. Opinions and advice appreciated.

Sorry, I just noticed that I posted this to the wrong forum -- should have gone to the pastel talk. Please forgive a newbie mistake -- I am just learning to navigate this site.

allydoodle
08-03-2012, 11:10 PM
If you're not sure what brand to try, Dakota Pastels offers a pastel pencil sampler. Take a look here, (http://www.dakotapastels.com/pages/index-pencils.aspx)it's a pretty inexpensive purchase to try six different brands. I have Conte, Carb Othello, Derwent and Gioconda. I like all these brands, it really just depends on what color I'm looking for. I don't care what brand I pick up, it's all about the color. Each set I have has different shades of colors, I don't find I have many duplicates and I have full sets of the four brands I have.

Studio-1-F
08-04-2012, 10:14 AM
I don't care what brand I pick up, it's all about the color.
So there are no pigment density differences or harder/softer differences among all those four -- Conte, Carb Othello, Derwent and Gioconda -- brands? If so, can you summarize?

Thanks in advance for your advice, Chris!

Jan

GaryNorthants
08-04-2012, 09:15 PM