PDA

View Full Version : Defects in paper?

markusrydh
07-31-2012, 05:05 PM
I bought a stack of 10 sheets of Fisher 400 a while ago, and so far all papers (I'm on sheet nr 3) have had defects in form of long scratches, so that when painting over the scratch it becomes clearly visible. The scratches run over the whole sheet, so they are long. For example, see the vertical line near the center of the image below (from a work in progress). The line is also clearly visible in the final image. Is this normal for sanded papers in general (I have never tried any before), or have I just been unlucky?

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/31-Jul-2012/974592-notan.jpg

Ruthie57
07-31-2012, 05:57 PM
Markus, I think this is something to do with the handling of the paper before it was despatched to you. I've had problems like this with Colourfix (today in fact) and some sheets of pastelmat have sort of ridges within the coating. Haven't encountered it with the Fisher though. I HAVE had sheets of Fisher delivered which have been rolled and not properly flattened which caused a lot of work getting the c*rl out. (Must just explain this. For some reason wet canvas objects to the word c.u.r.l and won't allow me to post it!!! The paper was bent, OK!!!)

markusrydh
07-31-2012, 06:04 PM
Interesting. My papers must have been rolled as well, because they certainly won't stay flat. I thought they were supposed to be like that? Or is some "bentness" (best avoid all those dirty words... :) ) to be expected, and yours were extraordinary?

Potoma
07-31-2012, 06:52 PM
I see the same elongated gouging in Pastelbord. Figured it's in the way it was handled or, actually, mishandled. Now I am much more careful with mine and try to look if I am buying them in the store.

Colorix
08-01-2012, 04:00 AM
Long post, which was then "Forbidden!" posting... seems WC has problems, again. Of course I didn't save the text before hitting the button... sigh.

OK here goes again:

Solutions: