PDA

View Full Version : Billy & Marlye at Sanibel (work-in-progress)

MEBBBL
07-28-2012, 07:39 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-28-2012/1100612_billy_marlyewip_smaller.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Billy & Marlye at Sanibel (work-in-progress)
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 30 x 40
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is the second piece I have painted after a 40-year hiatus. I was an art student BFA major at Syracuse University. Then I went to work in the business world. Now that I'm retired, I'm having fun again.

This oil is painted from a photograph of my two grandchildren taken at Sanibel, Fla.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I would appreciate any feedback you can provide.

MEBBBL
07-28-2012, 07:41 PM
Just a quick comment for critics: the shadow between the heads is not actually in the painting. It must be cast by the easel.

Debzy
07-28-2012, 09:44 PM
As you say it's a work in progress. So far I love it. Maybe some more definition and detail in the hair could give it more solidity but I will see what you do with it next! Welcome to WC and I'm glad you are back with your passion. Lovely soft work. Cheers. =)) Debs

crafor
07-29-2012, 02:09 PM
The figures appear approrpriately done. The shadows on the fabrics need a little work. Her left arm needs value changes to help round it. It's in shade, too. It seems to me his ear is a bit big. The shadow line under his left arm is too linear. Can you make it softer, follow the folds in her dress? I think his right arm and hand are too dark, or not the correct color. The perspective of the bench is off. The wide part should be nearer the viewer.
The horizontal line near the top (left) is on a slope. Is that what you intended?
My opinion only, and I'm a rank beginner.
I do hope this helps you.
Ella

TX Rose
07-30-2012, 09:13 AM