PDA

View Full Version : printing press

egevil
07-15-2003, 12:39 AM
Hello everybody,
I am new to this channel, the printmaking, and I would like to ask a question, i have just bought a Holbein etching press, and i would like some advice on how to set up my studio/atelier in the best possible way. I have a room of my ow measuring of 2 by 6 meters, with a glass roof, and a large window to one side.
The press allows me to make prints upto A5 format, and I suppose it will need a concrete base where i must put it on.
I have made already linocuts, etchings in copper, zinc, and plexi, but this is my very first studio, I also do watercolours, and acrylics, so I want to set up things correctly so that I can make the most of the space available to me.
Another questions is; Is any of you into mezzotint? I have tried one or two but I would like to learn more about this technique.
Thanks for listening to me,
greetings,
Liesbeth

timelady
07-15-2003, 06:11 AM
Wow, congrats on the press! You can have a press-warming party. :)

I personally would put the press in front of the window, where light can fall on it so you can see best when you're setting up for press. Maybe a table also across the front of the window for inking up, etc. But of course you need to make sure there's room for the press to move across. ;) (I would forget something simple like that!) If your table is slightly lower than the press bed then you could let it overlap a bit.

You may not need a concrete base - I'm not sure how big the press is. Sounds very small - A5? That's about half a letter page? Anyway... I used to have a etching press that did up to A3, it was VERY heavy (couldn't move it on my own) but it was fine on a strong sturdy little table. Oh, I miss that press...:(

Never tried mezzotint but think it's cool. All I know is you use some special little wheel to etch the whole plate. Then you use a burnisher to flatten the areas you want white. It's like etching in reverse.

Tina.

egevil