PDA

View Full Version : Mothers day flowers

Debzy
07-17-2012, 12:10 PM
This is an acrylic I started tonight, I'm not too good at acrylics, and I'm not too good at flowers. Any advice would be appreciated, I know there is much work to be done, it is not easy to be free with acrylics, I am having much trouble. Cheers Debs. =))

Trumper
07-18-2012, 04:37 AM
:) Blimey you are a one person painting machine :) .I find acrylics hard as they dry so quickly even with extenders and watered down.
My first comment is how little shadow/dark areas there are,all very constant.:)

Debzy
07-18-2012, 09:17 AM
Thanks trumper, I will add more shadows and change tones thank you for that. I am going to continue with this as I have only done one other flowers study before, very early on last year when I started water colours. I am still struggling with the same problem, not enough darks. This is something I see I need to address in a lot of my paintings. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention once again, and will use this flower study to practice exactly that!!! Cheers and thanks for the support. Debs. =))

Andrewcody
07-28-2012, 04:48 AM
I can identify most of the flowers so that is a plus
How long did this take you Deb?

Andrew

Debzy
07-28-2012, 10:12 AM
This was about two hours Andrew, I didn't do any pencil sketching, just paint straight on the paper and hope for the best. I will be adding more to this one because I think the colours are cheerful and would like to finish it!Glad you can identify some of them. Thanks Andrew Cheers! =)) Debs

crafor
07-28-2012, 12:29 PM
I'm new at all of this too, working to learn and remember, and use appropriately. Please bear in mind that what I'm saying here are things I need to learn and apply, too.
First, I really like your vase of flowers. It makes me want to go get some for my table. So, you're successful in that.
Next, I don't see a definate light source.
Deciding where the light is coming from is critical.