PDA

View Full Version : too many ideas but cant start~ HELP!

joaillerie
07-10-2003, 10:09 PM
ok...i need help here.

i have total creative flow going on....constant ideas for projects and designs (im a jewelry designer by trade) BUT....i cant seem to get started on any of them! when i get blocked, i usually research for new work, straighten my studio (UGH!), sketch, get inspired by going on field trips, write, do photo shoots.....but i dont think this is the same thing as being creatively blocked.

so what do you guys think! am i just overwhelmed here by a creatively cluttered mind? think i need to get organized?
hey...ill take all the guidance i can get on this one!

thanx much.

CarlyHardy
07-10-2003, 10:27 PM
Here's a thread that I'd recommend you read. I think you'll find that you're not alone in having a tough time 'getting started' even when you have tons of ideas.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=114232

Sounds like you're on the merry-go-round of creative ideas...every time you look the scene changes and you have a new direction...but you're still going around and around not able to take one of them.

Sometimes you just have to jump off...grab that idea and run with it.
carly

DanaT
07-10-2003, 10:34 PM
Hi joaillerie.

Welcome to the Creativity Forum. Wow, are you taking notes on all your creative ideas?

I think if you're unsatisfied with your creative output, thats a sign of being blocked. You're not blocked with coming up with ideas-just executing them.

Have you heard of the Artists Way program? We have a regular chat group that goes through the program together. Its really helpful for finding out what blocks you and how to work through your blocks. You may want to join us this September.

For myself, I usually look at what happens right before I block. Also if you're stopping at the same place in the creative process all the time, that may tell you something.

Where in the creative process do you stop?

Cathy Morgan