PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty with Pastelbord Texture holding up

Maggy B
07-11-2012, 12:49 AM
I'm a fairly new artist working solely in pastels. I like the texture of Ampersand Pastelbord but the texture does not hold up for me. I usually start an underpainting with hard pastels and then use Turpenoid to wet the underpainting. I've noticed the board becomes smooth pretty quick.

Is the Turpenoid breaking down the texture? Has anyone else had this experience? I've thought maybe I filled the tooth but even if I rinse the board the texture does not come back. :confused:

I would appreciate any help I can get.

Thank you,
Maggie

allydoodle
07-11-2012, 01:23 PM
It sounds to me like the surface is breaking down, but I don't use pastelboard so I'm not sure. One thing you could try is to take a small board and apply just pastel (lots of it), then rinse it off with water. See if the tooth is affected, if it's not, then it might be the turpenoid that is affecting the surface. I wouldn't be surprised, I do know Wallis can get gummed up with alcohol, maybe turpenoid affects pastelboard. It may not be made to stand up to the turpenoid.

Hopefully somebody will stop by here and give us a first hand opinion.

Maggy B
07-11-2012, 05:34 PM
Thanks for your help. I'll do as you say.

Maggie

angie_v
07-11-2012, 07:42 PM
I used alcohol on Pastelmat (a piece that I'm working on right now), and the texture held up. Maybe that would give you the same underpainting effect that your after with the turpenoid? Maybe try a grittier paper instead as well, and then you'll be able to build up a lot of layers.

Aelfwynn
07-11-2012, 08:35 PM
Pastelmat and Pastelboard are products from two different companies, aren't they?

allydoodle
07-11-2012, 10:56 PM
Pastelmat and Pastelboard are products from two different companies, aren't they?