PDA

View Full Version : Night Canals

Neverstsfyd
07-08-2012, 06:45 PM
A 9" X 12" Prismacolor colored pencil drawing of a photoqraph I was inspired by.
I'm really new at colors and values. Right now, I'm trying to darken my work with French greys and browns. I also cannot get the canal colors right on my scratchpad pallate. I started with a light pink underpaint then followed with oranges and French grey 50%. It looks too dark. I lighten it with canary yellow, too yellow, white, too white. :(

The top and sides are straight it is the photograph that is crooked. Yeah I know I need a ruler, it was all freehand. All comment appreciated!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Jul-2012/1089052-venice_4.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/08-Jul-2012/1089052-Venice3.JPG

Andrewcody
07-08-2012, 08:03 PM
Hi Never, welcome to here.
I suggest you focus on the drafting of the work first before concerning yourself with colour values. The drafting will be critical in making your work effective. The reference is good, though perhaps a little dark for an eventual colour study. The centre of interest is effectively the centre of the work, this will work if the drafting is accurate, they eye will be led by the waterway to the left of the main central building.
The bridge which you have completed is too large, and is also angled, and you have a few perspective problems with the building on the left, very noticeable at the bottom. There is a perspective problem with the buildings at the right rear of the main central building, and as you have no doubt already found a major problem on the left to the left of the small tower.
building. These problems emphasize the importance of getting the drafting done accurately first.
Andrew

Neverstsfyd
07-08-2012, 09:54 PM
Hi Never, welcome to here.