PDA

View Full Version : Trip to Italy

VinnieDee
07-06-2012, 03:30 PM
I posted this message in the "New User Forum" and someone suggested I post here in the Pastel Forum. I did get some suggestions, but wonder if you all have some suggestions too.

This is my first post, however, I have viewed this site for the past several years. I love pastels and enjoy reading all of your comments regarding this medium.

I am studying pastels with Christina Debarry. We are thinking of taking a trip to Tuscany, Italy next year (probably in August) and want to find a site that is "very economical, but charming". We all have limited funds.

About a year and a hlf ago, some of us went to France and stayed at a Monastery - David Garrison gave the workshop. The Monastery was beautiful, clean, the food was good, really nothing to complain about - and the price was excellent. This is what I am charged to find for the group traveling to Italy.

I googled Pastel Societies in Italy hoping that a member(s) might be able to give us some ideas/information, but, alas, Google did not have any listings for pastel societies in Italy.

Would someone have information/ideas that I can inquire about a site in Tuscany Italy or any surrounding area and ask about pricing and eligible dates?

Deborah Secor
07-06-2012, 06:09 PM
I'd suggest you contact the Pastel Guild of Europe (http://www.pastelguild.eu/) with your questions! Some of our members here at WC are very active in that group... Look up Charlie (username: Colorix (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/member.php?u=117343)) for details.

Check out Domaine du Haut Baran (http://www.hautbaran.com/) I have no idea how the prices compare, but I know artists who have held workshops there and loved it.

Have fun! :wave:

KarenB
07-07-2012, 03:13 PM
We had very good luck with this website, http://www.monasterystays.com/ booking stays in Venice and Rome last spring, for very reasonable prices. They also have some listings in Tuscony and Florence.