PDA

View Full Version : The church in Weiler-la-tour, Luxembourg

Bardur
07-04-2012, 11:47 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/07-04-2012/1076702_Weiler-la-Tour_copy.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: The church in Weiler-la-tour, Luxembourg
Year Created:
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 11X15
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I painted this last week using a small set of watercolor pans from Royal Talens (van Gogh) on a rough Saunders 300 gr/ 140 lbs paper 11X15 / 28x38cm

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I'm a beginner with watercolors and would appreciate your comments and critique in general.

La_
07-05-2012, 01:37 AM
well, this is about the same level i'm at with watercolors so i can't help much.

perhaps more variations in highlights and shadows will help lay down the lawn and separate the trees from one another - lifting pigment might be best or the trees will just get heavier tho right?

so, wait for a second opinion and also check out the watercolor forum

=-)

la

dgford
07-05-2012, 08:12 AM
The buildings are painted very nicely --- it is your trees and foreground that are not quite there yet. I would get outside and sketch some trees and shrubs using only charcoal pencil or conte crayon. Look for the tones --- just 4 of the them --- light tones, light mid-tones, darker mid-tones and dark tones. In your second trip outside try to select trees/shrubs with differing leafage or branch structure and, using the same drawing tool, and noting the tones again, use it with different strokes to depict the textures.

Repeat this using a brush instead of the charcoal / conte but use only one colour maybe indigo, aiming again for tones and textures. You will be 80% of the way to success. Last stage is to use mixed greens.

Good luck --- you are showing talent already.
Geoff

Debzy
07-05-2012, 08:48 AM