PDA

View Full Version : Birch Lake

Lucy12
07-03-2012, 06:21 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new at painting and would love help on this one. I'm at the point where I usually mess it up. I'm thinking I need somthing more on the right side for balance but I don't want to cover too much. I think a big tree would make it too balanced also? Perhaps a few limbs coming in from the right side and upper right corner? Any comments or suggestions appreciated. This is acrylic on canvas, 24x30. Thanks!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Jul-2012/1087382-100_4654.JPG

TDCT
07-03-2012, 06:56 PM
Hi (:.

Hmm, one thing...since I haven't seen any of your other work...are you planning on darkening the shorter trees on the right any further? I have a habit of making everything in all my paintings very dark lol, and I find that if the values are similar all the way through things don't look so unbalanced :P. Which might be bad, I may be trading that for depth...

BUT, I do think if you made it a little darker you might not need anything there. So if you were planning on doing it anyway I would do that first and then re-evaluate. In addition to this I think the foliage everywhere could use a few darker values for shadow...it's more difficult with nice yellow leaves but it would add some more depth. Maybe you were going to do this anyway, but just my two cents (:.

If you weren't planning on darkening it, I agree a few branches in the top right might help. Or even making one of the trees on the right a little wider/closer to the foreground...but not making it huge.

I also (personally) think that the middle ground trees on the right are a little skinny to support the amount of foliage you have here anyway. The trunks could be a little thicker (:.

It's pretty so far for sure, and the trunk of the left tree is very nicely done (although a tiny bit thick at the top going into the leaves?). I love birches!

TDCT
07-03-2012, 06:57 PM