PDA

View Full Version : pastels-paper...what should i buy???

mayelf
06-25-2003, 11:27 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to WC but I am in love already. Such great great inspiration in this place..
Anyways I really got back my spirit to want to do art again. I dropped out of an art school to live with the love of my life and just really couldnt find my inspiration to do much with art now a days. When all of a sudden.. I found this webpage out of nowhere.. not even looking.. and all I can think about is working on pastel paintings.. :)

so thankyou for that..

The problem and question I have tho.. is..
I'm pretty much flat broke.. and I could try and get some money for art supplies but I'm afraid not much...

so what equipment as to speak.. should I buy? I want to do detailed works of wild life animals.. perhaps of selling quality..

and all I've used in the lines of pastels is the cheap ones they sell at walmart. I was able to blend and make some wildly good pictures but still very limited into what I could really do...
Besides for walmart pastels I have some bristol paper... not really any pastel papers..

So what could I upgrade to that will help unlimit me a little and still not cost me every penny I have...?

And any reference webpages for prices would be great... :)

but i'm really looking for pastels that i could really get a lot out of that is worth it... that would be more for detailed pictures.. lots of layering.. packages with enough colors....

and paper that would be good for detailed works, but not to the extremes with the price.. the paper really isnt my biggest concern because i'll be able to update to others with the better i get and i should have a job soon hopefully so i'll be able to save up..

and i really just need pastels so i can get some of this art energy i have out :)

so any help would be so greatly appreciated..

I've done some researching on the site and have a small idea but i wanted to post my own to get a more direct response..