PDA

View Full Version : El Cajon Mountain

Revilo
06-15-2012, 10:02 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/16-Jun-2012/29065-1074282_Final_El_Capitan.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: El Cajon Mountain
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 12X24
Allow digital alterations?: No, please :)

MY COMMENTS:
This is my first attempt at oil painting. I probably should have tried something a little smaller for my first painting.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Let me know if this belongs in a thrift store or if you think it may be saleable.

tuzigoot
06-15-2012, 11:46 PM
This is pretty good for a first try! But you don't want to sell your first piece - keep it around to mark your progress.

Revilo
06-15-2012, 11:52 PM
This is pretty good for a first try! But you don't want to sell your first piece - keep it around to mark your progress.

Good advice, Tuzigoot. I should probably churn out a few before I try to sell them. I'm working on my second now and am using the knowledge gained in doing this one of the mountain. I'd also like to try some plein air but don't think I'm quite ready yet. Soon, though.

Revilo
06-16-2012, 02:27 PM
Thanks to Dana Design for making my picture smaller. I didn't catch the part about 800 pixel max until after I had uploaded.

I'm hoping more folks will provide critique and/or comments about the painting. It is my first oil painting ever and I did lots of reading and watching of videos before starting it. Please comment if you like or dislike use of color, tonality, composition and why.

Happy Father's Day Weekend to all!

Margaretta
06-16-2012, 02:56 PM
What a great first try!:)

I really like the shape of the central 'dip' from the tall mountain to the hills on the right. Think I would have made this the most detailed focus and the immediate area around. I really like the mountain in the distance, the softness of colour there.

I think the river needs to have more dark/light contrasts beginning to end.