PDA

View Full Version : Rainstorm on the Mesas

ahughes798
06-13-2012, 10:35 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/06-13-2012/211825_Sunset_001.JPG

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Rainstorm on the Mesas
Year Created:
Medium: Pastel
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 22.5 x 15
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
A master study of "Rainstorm on the Mesas" by Tom Perkinson. The original is watercolour with some pastel and coloured pencil

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
It's not exactly like the original because I lack the skills. And Mr. Perkinson did the original in watercolour, mostly. I'm very new to using pastels, so any critiques and/or advice appreciated.

crazywoman53
06-14-2012, 12:37 PM
The one bad thing about copying a photo ... even if it is of a painting is that they read anything dark as black. While the original watercolor may have indeed been black for the bushes I noticed there is light coming through them and would venture to guess they have other hues of color in them. Anyway... your interpretation is not so bad as you think. I would lighten the values of the background mountains so they recede more. Love the clean bright colors you've used.

ahughes798
06-14-2012, 03:44 PM
Thank you Crazywoman. I was thinking about graying out the far away mesas, but I wasn't sure, so thanks for mentioning that. The trees photographed darker than they actually are...they're forest green with lighter spots in them.

tgsloth
06-15-2012, 07:38 AM
I agree with Christine but will salute the fact that you have a full range of light/dark values in your work as it's such a common fault to paint everything in midtones. Two areas of weakness as I see it are: