PDA

View Full Version : Untitled

painter1960
06-08-2012, 12:14 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/06-08-2012/15045_282813_3337286676343_1964461580_n[1].jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Untitled
Year Created:
Medium: Acrylic
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 42
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
First time I've painted or posted in well over a year

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
looking for constructive criticism to finish the piece

painter1960
06-08-2012, 07:09 PM
I noticed his ears were disproportionate. This was drawn/painted from a photograph and the ears looked disproportionate in the photo as well. His nose is not asymetrical but again, it was not so in the photo. Not receiving any feedback but suppose being the new guy on the site, (once again), doesn't help. Would genuinely like to hear recommendations for completing the piece. It is a gift to our oldest son.

Ms Nan
06-08-2012, 08:20 PM
I am not experienced enough to give you a real critique, but I like your cat. Glad to see your post. It is true that in real life things are not always perfectly symmetrical, so I wouldn't worry too much about that. Are the eyes so very different in the photo? He has a sort of grumpy look, but has a beautiful coat.

Coen1
06-09-2012, 04:55 AM
Because your painting isn't a photo I would correct the ears and nose on your painting. You chose to give your son a painting (he must be very happy with it!), not a photo. I realise this is a rather personal statement.
On the right side your works looks a bit overexposed (I hope I said there is a bit too much light, cause that's what I intended - English is not my main language), mainly around the head. The colour of the eyes 'should' be switched, the darker eye on the left, in the shadow area, if you want them to look different. The eyes differ in size a little.