PDA

View Full Version : Pfff ...... not now!

Coen1
06-07-2012, 04:30 PM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/06-07-2012/1065522_102_5035.JPG

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Pfff ...... not now!
Year Created:
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 40x50 cm
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
A poem (of my hand) was originally accompanying this painting I did in 2011. Because it is in Dutch I won't bother putting it down here. Since I'm a slow painter, and I wanted to show you something, here's a work from 2011.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
One of my goals was to elicit a smile on your face. Does it?
Does cartoonism goes along with painting in this form?
Any other crits and comments will be appreciated.

AntonioBernal
06-07-2012, 05:10 PM
Wow, Coen, this is great! It's so clever! And yes, it did made me smile! I really enjoy your style, it is a bit cartoony but it's masterfully done! I love the texture in the wood in the background, and the mice are great! The white mouse if perfect, just stilized enough but yet so realistic.

I'm sorry I can't give you a more constructive feedback, I don't quite feel I'm the position of critiquing this I think your technique is far better than mine anyway, kudos anyway!

Antonio

La_
06-08-2012, 02:43 AM
wonderful whimsy, you had me looking for quite a while and i expect this was a lot of fun to work.

couple things that strike me a tad odd ... in such an odd painting, haha ...

where rat tail meets body meets ear (is this just too lined up?),

where tail leaves canvas (could be cool 'cause it could be linked all the way around to the paint brush),(could be bad 'cause it shoots me out of the canvas and it's nothing of a chore to sneak it back in again, with a little ink on the end of it),

rat body (it is a rat, right?), should it cast a shadow onto the sky or is it emerging from the sky,

note paper, so blank, oh so blank, please write me ...