PDA

View Full Version : Unison or?? Unsure of brands and choices

kateo
06-06-2012, 01:03 AM
I posted a query on the pastels 4 sale thread. Deborah Secour suggested that I post a new thread for a wider opinion sample. There is a 78 full stick Unison portrait set for sale on the Swap Shop. I recently bought the 80 half stick set of Senneliers from a Swap Shop source and love them. I am primarily a portrait painter just now switching from oils to pastels. Until the Senneliers arrived about a week ago I was using some cheap off brands available locally, some Nupastels and a partial set of badly crumbling Rembrandts. I was basically pleased with the portraits but the difference between the previous portraits and the one done last Saturday is astonishing.
I was debating the next acquisition- possibly the luscious Terry Ludwig darks and/or a small set of his portrait colors. I have read the entire thread for starting out in pastels for newcomers and many more threads but I am still confused and unsure. Many did not care for the Senneliers and I worried about my choice until they arrived and I tried them and found them to be wonderful. Many do not care for Unisons either.
Funds are limited so the choice must be carefully made. I do not feel I have the luxury of following the advice offered to sample many brands. I need a broader range right now and am unlikely to be able to afford another set for some time. I do pastel commissions at the Saturday farmers'/artist's market- pets and people.
Thank you for any feedback and advice you give.
Kate

Jason1616
06-06-2012, 02:24 AM
Hi Kate...

I loved your story about experiencing good pastels for the first time! There is nothing like the good stuff. :)