PDA

View Full Version : How Do you Approach the Anxiety of Creating?

CarlyHardy
06-17-2003, 11:14 PM
I'm currently reading one of Eric Maisel's books 'again' called "Fearless Creating". In it he discusses the stages of the creative process and the anxiety that comes with each stage. I won't go into a lengthy post about his book (I do recommend it to everyone) but would be interested in knowing how some of you deal with the anxiety or fear of creating.

In the past, beginning a painting was one of the most difficult things that I would try to do. I would spend hours working on the initial sketch and then seldom use it once I began the actual work on canvas! I realized that I used the sketch to actually keep me from beginning. And if the sketch wasn't enough, I'd also take even longer on choosing just the right canvas size or colors for my palette...and on an on. Paintings took months (and not because I'm a really detailed realist painter either!).

The anxiety of just beginning became my block. There were months on end where I just couldn't begin because I hated to feel that anxiety. Hated to work on something for so much time and still feel that I'd accomplished little. It became a dilemna because at the time, I was showing my paintings in a small gallery and they were selling. So I "had" to paint! Even more anxiety because of that. LOL

Now all of you are going to ask..."so how did you get out of it? how did you get rid of the anxiety?" The answer is...I didn't, but I did learn how to use the anxiety and channel it into a positive direction. I decided to approach my painting as a journey to an unknown place...maybe even a scary place that I'd never been before.
Setting up a new canvas on the easel became my ticket purchase. Laying out brushes and tubes of paint became 'packing my bags'...and when I squeezed out the color, I boarded the train....to wherever!