PDA

View Full Version : Brush & ink: Best Support?

Petdevils
06-12-2003, 02:40 AM
Hi guys,

I want to do some Brush and ink for my folio submission and therefore wanna do it on some decent paper. I have a bunch of Canson 250gsm smooth bristol board and was wondering if thats suitable for wet painting or is it just gonna run everywhere etc? Are there better types of paper.. i have some watercolour paper but its not entirely white.. is that a problem. I have only done brush and ink on printer paper so far and it works well cept it bleeds a lil and is too thin... however it doesnt' run all over the place as i fear it will with bristol..i simply dont' know but can't afford to waste any board as its relatively expensive as im low on cash. Can you please advise me on this as it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you :)

MonicaB
06-12-2003, 08:16 AM
Hi PD,

I'm a newbie at washes myself, but haven't had any luck with bristol and washes. Course, it could just be me. :D But it absorbs so quickly you can't get any control over it. Watercolor paper works much better, in my opinion. You could always try both and see which you like better. I wouldn't think the color of the paper would make a difference for your folio.

Petdevils
06-12-2003, 08:23 AM
Hi MonicaB

Thanks for your reply. I was surprised to hear the bristol sucked the wash in, i thought it would be the opposite problem. In that case i don't think i'll waste any trying it! I was gonna return my wc paper cause i think i made an uninformed purchase with it... but maybe i'll just use it as a test pad? I'm planning on just using bamboo brush with ink and water to change tone and stuff, paint with it...... is that always called 'wash' ... i thought that only meant like tinting an entire canvas or something? Thanks for your help :)

Elankat
06-12-2003, 09:02 PM