PDA

View Full Version : Hard Pastel Sketches

orange0127
06-08-2003, 11:54 PM
Hello everyone, i just started to draw with hard pastels, not a big fan of soft ones, maybe it's because i have never tried them before :p Basically, i'm using hard pastels as charcoal but i get to throw in a little bit of color in there to give my drawings an extra kick. Hope you like these two :D

24x36in, hard pastels on brown paper

Keith

PS- i promise i'll try using soft pastels to make paintings :angel:

orange0127
06-09-2003, 12:00 AM
This is the other one, this one is my 3rd attempt with hard pastel, the one up there was the first. i think i'm getting the hang of it little by little

soap
06-09-2003, 12:29 AM
"the hang of it little by little"????? You mean with huge leaps! Wow, these are absolutely wonderful! Thanks for posting....now that is how to use pastels in figures......aaaah......now I see......LOL.......

Thanks for sharing!

Dark_Shades
06-09-2003, 03:07 AM
These are excellent :clap: ..... I like hard pastels too ........ its a scary thought you using 'Brown Paper' ........ please invest in some quality archival pastel paper ....... I would hate to see these disintergrate

........ hope you will post more

E-J
06-09-2003, 03:14 AM
hello Keith ~ looks to me like you've mastered those hard pastels already and I'm guessing you're a very experienced artist in other media. What do you usually work in? Would love to see what you can achieve with soft pastels too ... great stuff, thanks for sharing :clap:

Smudger
06-09-2003, 03:58 AM
They're Great...well done:clap:

orange0127
06-09-2003, 04:56 AM
Thanks Sopa, Dark Shades, and E-J :D

These were done at my local saturday morning workshops. It was an unintructed class so I got to try out new medias and do whatever i wanted to. Right now, i'm really into using pastels because i can make a drawing so much faster and it is much more interesting to look at than a pencil drawing!