PDA

View Full Version : The shipwreck

Stemaka
05-19-2012, 06:42 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/05-19-2012/1065912_DSCF1127_(800x600).jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: The shipwreck
Year Created:
Medium: Watercolor
Surface: Watercolor Paper
Dimension: 11 by 8
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I have been painting and drawing on and off for 10 years.Previous to that i had never tried painting or drawing since school.I did a few watercolours in my first 12 months of my new hobby but as time went on didn't do it so much and for a few years only did about 1 painting a year.In the last 12 months since my accident i have started taking it more seriously and am painting regularly.This watercolour of a shipwreck i did last september.It's the 1st painting i have done just using my imagination without any outside influence or reference ect.It as also the 1st time i have painted the sea / waves and wasn't sure what to do so just went with the flow.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I think i could have had a darker sky to better contrast with the sea which would have shown more of a stormy scene but i haven't quite mastered skies yet.I don't know how to paint waves yet so i just did my best with the knowledge i had.I wasn't sure about the colour of the sea but i didn't want to go for blue.

Any constructive critisme would be welcome.

dgford
05-19-2012, 07:06 AM
I think the question is "does it convey the feeling of a shipwreck?"
In my opinion --- YES.
The waves may be shown higher than mountains --- but they are fearsome waves. The man may be too large --- but he is lost in that immense sea. The painting may lack colour --- but it is cold, unfriendly and unforgiving.
And doesn't that tell it all?
A darker sky I think would have diminshed the drama of the stricken vessel.
Conratulations and welcome to our group. It is a good entry.
Geoff

tgsloth
05-19-2012, 07:08 AM