PDA

View Full Version : Help a dingbat

Maryeve
06-03-2003, 09:19 AM
Ok, I need your experienced help. I have been painting and drawing commissioned portraits for 9 years, but started this pastel business less than a week ago, so I am really in the dark about how to do a few things. So pardon the elementary questions..any guidance is very much appreciated.

1) Is there a trick to avoiding smudging your work while working on it?..I was just drawing on a drafting table, but do I need to be working straight up and down on an easel and use a Mahl stick like when painting?..If so, how do I do this?..find a peice of board as the back on the easel? then what...tape? Tack? it to the board

2) Matting- I have ZERO framing tools, I can not afford to run every thing I do to the local frame shop. I would like to do one of two things..just mat it...is there a good place that I could order some inexpensive acid free precut mats? I noticed they do not come with backs...so what do I used and If it is not going to go in a frame how would I mount/attach it so that it is secure til the client could take it to get it framed. ....and/OR some inexpensive frames to pop it it. I do NOT want to be responsible for framing commissioned peices, but they do need to be in SOMETHING..I don't want to just hand a peice of paper to someone.

3) SIZE..Most of my oils are pretty sizeable, at least 24x36 or bigger. How do you do this in pastel? I have scoured the art supply catologs and all I can find is paper approximately 22x30.

4) AND last...What is the deal with 9x12?? Im always seeing/have 9x12 sheets of paper so it is obviously a standard size..well, Those pastels of Liza I did are that size..I thought it would be easy to run out and find a precut mat and cheap frame to stick it in.. WRONG. The little plastic frames come in that size, but it seems NOTHING else does~~~

Help???:(

Mikki Petersen
06-03-2003, 09:29 AM