PDA

View Full Version : Abstract Art Classes/Workshops

Shai
05-21-2003, 10:13 PM
Hi. I don't post in this forum regularly, but I'm hoping to change that. :)

Although I've been experimenting with abstract work since I started painting, I've never really studied it until about a year ago. Even then, I never took lessons or classes... mostly just reading and looking at abstract art.

A couple of months ago, I signed up for an abstract class with a local painting group I joined when I first arrived here in Australia. I thought I'll share the pieces and some short class notes for your input, if you like.

There has been about 6 classes so far and 5 projects.

Lesson One: Painting from Shapes

For the first class, we were asked to bring magazines/newspapers and any art materials we like to use. Then, we were asked to draw shapes (positive or negative) from the images we can find in the magazines/newspapers.

After drawing the shapes, we were told to paint the shapes with as many or as few colours as we like. We can block out other shapes. And, the suggestion was to paint from dark colours to light colours.

My first project turned out to be this one:

http://www.shaicoggins.com/paintings/homebuilding_med_acr.jpg

Title: Home Building
Medium: Acrylics on Canvas Panel
Size: 12x16 inches

The first class was quite funny in some ways because I was seated next to two ladies who just HATED what we were doing. They kept saying things like, "We just want to paint normally, you know?", "It's like we're back in kindergarten!", and so on. It was quite distracting because I was actually interested with what was going on. :)

Anyway, I managed to do part of the project in class (2 hours) and finished the rest at home in my small studio.

Shai
05-21-2003, 10:15 PM
Ooops... I actually wanted to see if I could attach that image to the post. I'll try again...

Shai
05-21-2003, 10:24 PM
Lesson Two: Draw Your Hands In One Colour