PDA

View Full Version : Incarnational Revealed Nature of Art

LarrySeiler
05-17-2003, 10:57 AM
Many of us when making art are attempting to flesh out truth...

As a person of faith and as an artist, I am impressed to consider that God communicates by way of revelation. That the essence of my spirituality is that it is a "revealed faith." A scriptural understanding of revelation as Colin Harbinson (maker of Toymaker's Dream production) puts it is as an "uncovering" or "showing." The content of revelation is the uncovering and showing of truth.

This is both a great encouragement and at the same time a challenge. Harbinson goes on to say, " Art works best when it shows rather than tells. When it uncovers what familiarity has concealed, and opens up a fresh perspective of truth; the truth about any subject. This would strongly suggest that artistic expression, at its best, is compatible with God's way of revealing truth to man. Both show and both seek to show truth."

Psalm 19:1-2 declares that "the heavens are telling of the glory of God; and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands. Day to day pours forth speech, and night to night reveals knowledge." God's creative expression is proclamative; it tells, declares and pours forth speech. It does so by way of revelation; it "reveals knowledge."

For those of us with like worldview, Jesus was the ultimate revelation: "the word made flesh." He alone could say, "He who has seen me has see the Father." As Harbinson says, "Incarnational reality is essential understanding for the artist. Art has to do with "fleshing out" truth from ideas, thoughs, and concepts."

When Jesus communicated (and did so artfully), it was of his understanding that if man were to be truly changed, it would be as a result of receiving and acting upon revelation.