PDA

View Full Version : Storage

Sher
05-14-2003, 01:31 AM
OK all you experts.............Let's see how everyone stores their supplies. Do you have a special or unique way to keep your brushes, paints and etc? I'm still a novice and I would like to know the best way to keep my watercolor brushes and tube paints. Right now I have the paints in a plastic container and my brushes in a glass.
Thanks!
Sher

lyn lynch
05-14-2003, 02:33 AM
Sounds good to me, Sher. I use an old treadle sewing machine box for my palette paints; a wooden box for some other than my palette paints, and a basket for yet another other than my palette paints. My acrylics are thrown into a plastic storage bin, covered and in the garage. My brushes are flat in a canvas brush wrap; more in a flower pot; more in 2 tin boxes; more in a willow reed brush carrier, and the ones I use all the time in a little tin bucket, which once held Easter eggs for a child, and 2 are lying on my desk. Paper is in a cabinet in my studio. Full sheets are in the garage.

Sher
05-14-2003, 02:37 AM
Thanks Fookie, I guess that my "a little here a little there" is just part of being an artist then? I thought I must be the biggest slob around!

rks
05-14-2003, 02:53 AM
Sher,

Auntie and you sound neat compared to what my house looks like since I started painting. My "room" also serves as our guest room so I don't keep many of my supplies in there. There is no space in this house for a studio (sigh) so invariably my supplies are all over the livingroom and diningroom. I have a roll-up bamboo holder for my brushes, but my faves are kept in a vase. Most of my paints are kept in my palette (which I do clean regularly) and new and extra tubes of paint are kept in a large, plastic baggy. My paper supplies and other supplies are everywhere. Mmmm, must get organized one of these days.:(

Roberta

Sher
05-14-2003, 03:00 AM
Roberta,