PDA

View Full Version : Latina Girl

Dompros
05-09-2003, 09:53 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-May-2003/12130-latina_girl_4_enh.jpg

Arches CP #140, 22"x30", M. Graham paints

Greetings...
Several comments concerning values have caused me to look at this painting from a new point of view.
I can see, that the value problems are showing at this stage.

So, what's the remedy?

Please understand that I may not use every suggestion right now, but they all will go into my note book!

Best Regards, Robert

l_wheat
05-10-2003, 12:24 AM
Looks fine to me, Im no expert so dont take my word but it looks great

artmom
05-10-2003, 12:34 AM
Robert, Here's a tip.
If you just want comments, use the word Comments.

If you would like a true critique, you need to ask for it as in
Critiques welcome or Comments and critiques welcome. If you don't, some people will just look and not post anything. The word "critique" lets us know you are not too sensitive for constructive criticism. :)

Lyn

Nandie
05-10-2003, 03:38 AM
Hi Robert!

You're already off to a great start - I love that blue dress!!

Values are easily rendered once you establish your light source and the direction it is coming from. Then you can save your lightest values for the surfaces facing the light source, and paint your darker values on the surfaces facing away from the light. For instance, your lady should be casting a shadow (dark value), away from the light source. Probably against the wall somewhere, if the light is coming from the left, which it looks to me like it is. And the basket will throw a shadow. And the folds in her dress & skirt will have shadows. I can see you have started some shading in those folds... just make them a little darker in the deepest creases and you'll be well on your way to having a broad range of values in this painting.

Hope that helps!:cat:

Nandie
05-10-2003, 04:15 AM