PDA

View Full Version : The Bard's Lair....finished oil pastel

Dyin
05-09-2003, 05:03 PM
Sorry I didn't get this in as a WIP but blow by blow is included below:

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/09-May-2003/19147-The_Bards_Lair.jpg

This is an un-retouched photo, made a little smaller for posting. It's a commission for a writer who asked for a red tailed hawk, raven and some antlers and gave me free rein with the composition (I LIKE that!)

This is on light gray Fabriano Tiziano pastel paper (12 x 16 1/2) sized with gloss acrylic medium (no water added!) A bit too slick for my tastes but it's supposed to keep the oils from degrading the papers...will drop this step next time. I lightly sketched the subjects and then scrubbed in the backgound, leaving the subjects untouched. Glazed again over the whole thing and it picked up some color and toned the remaining grey area a pinkish mauve. Then as I'm a messy artist I started working from the top down, completing first the hawk, then the eagle, then the antlers and finally the deer skull. I fixed each as I was mostly completed with acrylic glaze medium...not as glossy, but not as durable either. I kept going back to add touches to the finished parts to pull the whole thing together, but didn't need many changes as I'd pretty much planned the colors ahead of time. I fixed it at the end with the glaze medium too. A lot of the nuances are lost in the picture...it's a bit more delicate looking on shadow areas in the original. But the colors are pretty true to the original. To me it ended up looking like an acrylic painting, only brighter and richer. I blended mostly with my fingers...everything else wanted to lift the pastel off the slick surface and I used Prismacolor pencils to clean some edges.