PDA

View Full Version : Color substitution

ArtWench
05-08-2003, 11:05 PM
Is there a book or guide out there for substituting colors? For instance, I decided to try out Pam's recipe for black on my penguin and didn't realize until three quarters through the glazing process that I don't have any Pthalo Green (well, I do; but, it is acrylic... not too helpful in this case!). So, is there a color that is close? Or can I combine two colors to get something close to Pthalo Green? :confused:

Since I am a beginner with watercolors; I currently have a limited selection of colors. I am trying to purchase the good stuff a little bit at a time (geeze it's not cheap!) and meanwhile relying on the colors which came with my Cottman travel kit and a set of Reeves Watercolors which were on sale at Michael's for a disgustingly low price. I do have a couple of Grumbacher artist grades and a couple of W&N artist grades... But, I am missing quite a few.

So, in my overly verbose way, I need to find out what substitutions can be made until I can afford to outfit myself with a full set of the good stuff!

tessp
05-09-2003, 12:11 AM
I have no idea if anyone has written a book on substituting colors, but spend some time on handprint.com (http://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/water.html) if you want to learn about pigments. The only problem is that it might take days to find the answer to your question!

Trust me, you're not going to be able to mix a Phthalo Green if you don't have it. It's a very intense color.

But you may be in luck, because many cheaper green paints are mixtures made with phthalo green. These colors might be called Viridian Hue or Emerald Green.

One book I find very useful is Hilary Page's Guide to Watercolor Paints. It shows samples of many different paints so you can see how they differ between brands, and gives lightfastness ratings according to the author's own tests.

Tess

Alan Cross
05-09-2003, 01:11 AM