PDA

View Full Version : X Posted Arabain horse in motion WIP~HELP NEEDED!!

shedreamsbig
05-07-2003, 07:53 PM
This will be my first ever full color water color. and My second attempt at using this medium....

:rolleyes: To say the least, I am nervous!!

SO any help is very welcome and Apreciated!!

Here is the sketch I will be working with....

shedreamsbig
05-07-2003, 08:02 PM
First the sketch is aprox. 6"'s high by 10"long including her tail....

I would like the finished painting to be about 10" by 13". So I am at a loss for what to do with the background... I am new to water color and am timid with regards to a detailed look... I want the horse to stand out more... but I don't want a boring background either....

Second the Horse is to be a Bay which for you non~horse people is a rich redish brown with black legs, mane and tail... (I have posted a pick of the a horse the color I would like to try and achive.)

Being a very green watercolor artist I haven't a clue how to achive the right look!! I have been playing with mixing colors but seem to be making mud!!

Thank you for your time and Help!!

Christina

pampe
05-07-2003, 08:50 PM
Christina....not a horse person, but I am a watercolor person...so let's see what we can do....

General:
Mud happened when you mix too many colors or complimentaries

Backgrounds:
If you want the hores to stand out, and it will be dark...go for a subdues light background....maybe the sky, some grass and fences

Color
I see blue in that horse....especially in the shadows
You may want to "glaze" the horse.....re-peated layers of clean watercolor...after each layer is COMPLETELY DRY

I might glaze him in Sienna, blue, gold, red, brown madder and see what happens

Or you can mix a color you light and apply it right on and then add shading .

Good luck...let us see the progress!

Pam

shedreamsbig
05-07-2003, 09:24 PM
Great advice!! Thank you!!