PDA

View Full Version : Finding your unique voice

Fantasia
05-07-2003, 01:30 PM
Hi there everyone, this is my first post in the Creativity forum, so, glad to meet you all :)

I started painting for the first time about a year ago, when I was given a gift of some acrylic paints, out of the blue. I have been teaching myself since then- reading books about techniques, copying paintings I like, making colour charts. I do love acrylics for their gorgeous colours and thickness and want to stick with them.

But the thing I struggle with is, and this may seem like a stupid question to you, how do I discover what my own painting style is? I have seen many paintings now, in books and in galleries and I know what excites me and what doesn't. But I don't really know how I want my own paintings to look. All I know is, I do want to express my creativity and I feel everyone has a personal, unique way of expressing themselves.

So the question is, how do you go about discovering your own unique voice?

Also, there seems to be this division between fine art and decorative art. Now, I don't mind that I am not a "true artist", but I don't know whether I should be aiming for framed paintings to put on the wall, or paintings that can be used in a decorative way, like for greetings cards, say.

Another thing I struggle with: my background is science/medical, I have been rigorously trained to be logical, left brain, perfectionistic. I wasn't allowed to make mistakes when I was growing up either. So it's difficult to break free and explore and make mistakes.

I feel fear is stopping me break out of the mould. Pathetic isn't it.

I would love to hear from you about your own voyage of creative discovery.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts :cat:

Lady Carol
05-07-2003, 02:27 PM
Hello Fantasia,