PDA

View Full Version : First Commission-EEEEKK!!!

Annetta
05-05-2003, 06:36 PM
A gal at work, who has a daughter starting Saint Joseph College in the fall, gave me a postcard of the Campus Church and asked me to paint it as a "graduation from High School" gift. OMG, the details!! :eek: I told her I would "try", not having done anything this difficult/detailed before, so that sort of leaves me an out.

Anyway, this is how much I've done so far. What do you think? I'm using the postcard for color reference, but am working from an older photo off the internet...well quite a bit older as the front doesn't show any mature landscaping, so I'm not putting any in this one other than a hint of some low growing greenery in front (maybe). I'm not good with grass either, but we can get to that later.

Do the windows on the sunny side have too much white left in them for reflection? Anything else you see that might need some attention? Since this is quite a challenge for me, I'm doing this in 'sections', going really slow and taking little steps at a time.

8x10, 300 cp Aquarelle.....Loving this paper!!!! Mostly Burnt Umber, Burnt Sienna so far, with .05 Rapidograph technical pen/black ink for the itsy bitsy details.

Reference. Postcards don't scan well :rolleyes:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-May-2003/16337-Church_Reference.JPG

Painting. Scan looked great but darkened after I posted here
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-May-2003/16337-Church.JPG

babybrush
05-05-2003, 06:45 PM
wow! this is going ot be amazing!! i really love it. you are doing a smashing job.

Bethany

lyn lynch
05-05-2003, 06:52 PM
If your intent is to glaze this project, pay close attention to your palette as the liklihood of mud is prevelent when starting w/such a low key color. I assume this is a earth tone.

Sketching looks good to me. Sally forth, dearheart.

mhimeswc
05-05-2003, 06:52 PM