PDA

View Full Version : How do you get your animals??

Crackers
03-18-2012, 07:24 PM
I love to paint wildlife, however I do not like painting from images from the internet because then it is not an original work and what not. I do not get out to get my own photographs very often. Even if I did get out, I could not get very close to most animals. What do you people do?? Do you paint from imagination or what??

KarenESP
03-18-2012, 08:40 PM
I paint from internet images 'cause I'm just learning. My paintings never look much like the photo at this point anyway, sometimes I change tiger stripes because I think they look better, and if an ear is back, I make it forward in my painting. I also very often choose a different background entirely from whats in the photo for my animals because a lot of them are zoo shots.

Barb'sArt
03-18-2012, 09:57 PM
Hi Crackers,
Have you checked out the wonderful Reference Image Library(RIL) here on WetCanvas? The images posted by the members here are available for you to paint from, with a photo credit given whenever you post or exhibit the work.
here is the link-
http://www.wetcanvas.com/RefLib/

nickib
03-19-2012, 01:21 AM
If it is something on the internet that I just have to draw, I ask permission. Other than that, I study a lot of pictures of the same subject, stick them all in my head, and work from memory in my head. I hope that helps:wave::wave:Nicki

daisyree
03-19-2012, 02:02 AM
Ask permission from the photographers and use stock images from the RIL here or from other art sites.
I also take a lot of photo''s in the zoo.
BTW Jason Morgan sells wildlife photo dvd's. Maybe that''s an idea?

GailT
03-19-2012, 02:17 AM
Many photographers are only too pleased to give permission for painting, but make sure you keep a copy of this just in case of later issues. A trip to the zoo or sanctuary with your camera is another option. Gail

lotsofsmoggies
03-19-2012, 02:39 AM