PDA

View Full Version : Loggerhead Turtle Nesting

Phillip
05-02-2003, 06:07 AM
Hi All,

I took this photo January this year about 3 in the morning, after I finished Processing her.

I am a Turtle researcher here. She laid about 125 eggs. they are about the size of a ping pong ball but very soft. Each nesting turtle that nests on our beach has a titanium tag, if they don't have one I will put one in. I basically take measurements etc. We have records dating back 30 years for each particular turtle.
Sea turtles nest on the same beach that there born on. They don't nest till there about 30 years of age. There home ground is anywhere up to 2000 km away. so it's amazing after 30 years they find there way back to the very beach they was born at.

They are much the same as a pigeon. They use the magnetic variations in the earth to find there way back to there nesting beach. They are truly amazing.

Oh well don't want to get to technical here,
I painted this one a few weeks ago. Hope you like it.

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-May-2003/21263-1.jpg

CharM
05-02-2003, 06:28 AM
Wow, Phillip, your explanation is sooooooo INTERESTING!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!!! You painting is lovely... Is that Mom laying her eggs?

Phillip
05-02-2003, 06:34 AM
Originally posted by CharM
Wow, Phillip, your explanation is sooooooo INTERESTING!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!!!! You painting is lovely... Is that Mom laying her eggs?

Yes about 3 in the morning. Had to wait till than because its one of the biggest tourist atractions here. half hour ago there would of been almost 70 tourists around me watching. she usauly takes about an hour and a half. But don't worry the visitors do not worry them at all. if they did we would not allow visitors.

I start about 6 pm & finnish sometimes about 7 the next morning.

I took my camera in my backpack. The only time I ever have, been there for 4 years now.

Uschi
05-02-2003, 08:47 AM