PDA

View Full Version : Plan or Paint?

Darren
05-01-2003, 09:29 AM
As I've read through a number of different watercolor how-to books, there are some that stress the need (nay, absolute necessity) for sketches and value studies before picking up the brush while others seem to just to dive right in.

As a beginner, I was wondering what approach some of you take--do you do much of the up front "planning" (value, composition, palette, etc) or jump into the painting? (I haven't had the need yet since I'm still working exercises in the books, but I do aspire to do a "real" painting some day soon!)

thanks

darren

pampe
05-01-2003, 09:32 AM
Hi and WELCOME!!

I think you will find as many answers as people here!

YOu may also want to search old threads about value drawings, etc!

I do both....some just start right out...some with planning more

But, I use my camera to do much of my value planning because I work from my photos

Good luck!

Pam

vestalqueen
05-01-2003, 10:03 AM
Depending on the complexity of the subject, I like to do a thumbnail of my subject. Nothing fancy, but a small drawing of the basic shapes - it helps me get a grip on composition and value. I use my thumbnail to determine where my highlights, midtones and darks will go. I don't fuss over it a whole lot, but it's an invaluable tool. At the very least I try to "think" a value sketch in my mind. When I don't take that few minutes before I set in to paint, I generally end up frustrated with some element in my painting. We all know that the frustrations in watercolor are plenty as it is, so I try to reduce them somewhat with a little planning in advance.

That said, I must admit that even the best made plans run amok.

:D

Erin

madmum
05-01-2003, 11:17 AM
I usually go straight in and paint! Watercolour paper is easy to crop if the composition doesn't work ;) Think my way would be considered bad practice by many artists, though :cat:

Ruth

Nitsa
05-01-2003, 11:51 AM