PDA

View Full Version : Would Like some honest help, please

stodbw
04-29-2003, 06:38 PM
I'm sure you have all seen the Lion Cub in the Tree picture before. This is my first attempt at water color and as you can see, I am having some problems.

First I need advise in creating a smooth background for the picture. You can see each time I dipped my bush. Any advise on any thing here will be appreciated.

Grayeagle

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/29-Apr-2003/20219-mgcubbie.jpg.jpg

andylavallee
04-29-2003, 07:14 PM
Firstly welcome to the watercolour forum, and as its international where we are from determines what kind of color (colour) you get. Thats the welcome now Im afraid I have to tell you what you need is a wash:D . if you go to watercolour intro page and look at Rod's instruction all will be revealed . enjoy

Strawberry Wine
04-29-2003, 07:17 PM
Hi Greyeagle:

Your lion cub is very good. I love the expression you have given him.

Backgrounds always give me grief. so take my advice with a grain of salt.

I think you have too much of the same colour values in the background and it is competing with the cub. Try wetting some areas and lifting the paint to create a cloudy effect. The lion cub is in a tree so it would be nice to have seen some kind of leafy green stuff as a background. Not too much you can do about that this time around, I don't think.

I am sure that some of the others will pop in to advise further.

Gail

Jprice022
04-29-2003, 08:12 PM
Welcome aboard Grayeagle-

I like the cub. As for the background Andy is correct. You will need a wash. You might want to practice on some scrap watercolor paper. It isn't too hard to learn.

artmom
04-29-2003, 08:33 PM
Cub is excellent--and you have received excellent advice. Keep posting!

Lyn

JanJones
04-29-2003, 08:34 PM
The cub is great, love his face. Please post again after the wash.

CharM
04-29-2003, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by Strawberry Wine
Hi Greyeagle: