PDA

View Full Version : new member, new to watercolor

sisangel
04-26-2003, 12:23 AM
Hello fellow members. I am a new member and have just begun to do watercolors. I have been reading the threads and have really enjoyed your paintings.
I have finished 5 paintings and have trashed 3. All the painting were done as a step-by-step lesson from books. I would like to do a painting "on my own". (have been talking many photographs)

I wish to paint a rainbow on a dark blue background.

1. which blue would be best to use?
2. what order do I paint?
3. would I be best to use mask on rainbow and then paint it in wet-on-dry?

I really am learning a lot from you all and am looking forward to getting to know you and jumping in on some discussions.
Thank you for your advice,
Bonnie

Phillip
04-26-2003, 12:41 AM
Hi sisangel welcome to WC.

Sorry I can't help you with that as I am a beginner,

You will learn lots here, I know I have.

CharM
04-26-2003, 12:56 AM
Welcome to WC Bonnie... If you click on the second message thread in this forum, it will take you to a wealth of information and articles. There you will find everything from "How To's" to WIP's (Work In Progress)... Happy reading!!! :)

Rod
04-26-2003, 01:12 AM
Welcome to Watercolours Bonnie ,

You will find plenty of info in the sticky thread .

French Ultramarine would be an ideal blue with a touch of light red just to dull slightly.

You could mask off the rainbow area and paint the sky, then remove the masking fluid and soften the edge with a damp brush.

Then paint in the rainbow when dry.

With watercolours we try and preserve our whites by letting the paper show through and generally paint from light to darks,

Rod.

Bill J
04-26-2003, 01:23 AM