PDA

View Full Version : Gesso - looking for advice

craigchivers
03-04-2012, 09:15 AM
Hi all,
I'm not sure which channel is best to post this but here we go.
I've for a long time wanted a little return to natural materials and to get away from using petro-chemical industry processed products in my painting. I studied historical techniques way back when, but most of it was theoretical. Now i'm finally attempting to put that knowledge to use and trying to prepare painting surfaces with traditional gesso. I've cross-indexed my books and pretty much all agree that the gelatin size should be mixed at 1:10 rabbit skin to water (double-boiled of course!) and that the gesso should be 1:1:1 glue:zinc:calcium.
I'm wondering if I should be using a mortar / pestle or a muller / slab to get a really consistent gesso? Right now i've just been using a large palette knife and palette for mixing. Even my 8 year old students know what happens when you mix 1 part liquid to 2 parts solid and that is a really thick paste, so there is no way you're applying that stuff with a brush! I think it was Doerner who said to use a spatula, and yes this is much more like mudding drywall than anything else.
I'm still not satisfied with the results but i'm determined. If anyone has any experience in making "real" gesso and preparing painting surfaces I would be much obliged.
Cheers,
Craig

azulparsnip
03-07-2012, 07:26 AM
Hi Craig - I've posted a copy of your thread in the Classical forum - there is more activity there. I hope you get some response.

craigchivers
03-07-2012, 07:40 AM
Thanks for that. I did put it up over in the classical forum when i put it up here. the experiments with gesso are going alright, but getting some tips would certainly be helpful.
Cheers,
Craig

craigchivers
03-07-2012, 07:45 AM
oh i see maybe this isn't the "forum"
Cheers and thanks again,
Craig

Painting Bas
03-15-2012, 07:47 PM
oh i see maybe this isn't the "forum"
Cheers and thanks again,
Craig

Hi Craig,