Title: "Island Mariner"
Year Created: 2003
Medium: Oil
Surface: Linen
Dimension: 8x14
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Greetings all...
Took a week-or-so break from painting..(and it shows,LOL!)
I've been wanting to paint nautical scenes for awhile in oils;...this is my first attempt.OY:)

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
All comments welcome

woodguy
04-24-2003, 04:42 PM
This is really VERY good, Scott! The texture is so inviting and the color sings. Jim

jimb
04-24-2003, 04:45 PM
Well, I for one like it a lot. In particular I like the water in the foreground. The lighter blues playing off the dark. Gives the water a real feeling of deepness.
One nit, and that is I would put some more white froth running down the side of the boat (not a lot). With all of that spray in the bow area, I think there would be just a touch more down the sides.
Wonderful work though. Again, I really like it.

jimb
04-24-2003, 04:47 PM
As far as my previous comments, that's probably more the sailor in me talking, than the painter. :)

Fagan
04-24-2003, 05:05 PM
WOW! now this is different! the pink in the sky/clouds and the green/blue waters is fantastic!

Wes Hyde
04-24-2003, 05:07 PM
Awesome, Scott! You're going to do well with these. I agree with Jim; go forth and paint froth. ;)

I also wanted to comment on the great sea quality of the sky. It may be a secondary feature of the painting, but it makes all the difference.

Wes

coulter
04-24-2003, 05:21 PM
Wow! The impact of this is just incredible! Edges, colors, values...all is in harmony!

Beautiful Scott! Awesome indeed!

Mark

mattlart
04-24-2003, 05:39 PM
Gracias Mucho,...fellow sailors...........

I enjoyed your comments,..Jimb;..and I understand. For me,..it's usually not the sailor in me talking;..more often than not,...it's the beer and schnapps;) Thank you for the advice..-Scott