PDA

View Full Version : first attempt at oil pastels

white-anubis
04-18-2003, 07:29 PM
Doing this for one of the projects. Couldn't decide which animal to pick to do, so I combined all my "totems" into one animal, as usual. I think I should have probably done the background first, but I have no idea how background/foreground works with oil pastels. Which do you do first? Oh well, I'll squeeze the field and woods in somehow. Oh, he's part maned wolf/fox/jackal, sabre tooth tiger, rat, horse, and grackle. Probably some other critters mixed in. i think I like this medium. It's kind of like crayons. Thanks Christina for sending me the pastels! I'll post another pic when I finish him.<P></P>http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/18-Apr-2003/14705-sarstart2.jpg

ironhorse
04-18-2003, 07:43 PM
Oh that really cool. In the blended parts it's does look a bit like oils!

Question for you. How does one find their totems? Always wanted to know mine.

Twyla

white-anubis
04-18-2003, 07:47 PM
Not sure really. Just the animal you feel the most affinity with, I think. And it can change as you do. I was a cobra when I was very little, then a mongoose! The irony! I wonder if the fact that I can't peg down just one means that I'm versatile?

Paul Hopkinson
04-18-2003, 08:33 PM
This is so unusual by yet sooo good! I hope you have given it a breed name.

Paul

shedreamsbig
04-19-2003, 12:39 AM
Wow!

That is so cool!! I am very glad you like the oil pastels!! I HATED THEM!!! LOL

You seem to have grasped the jest of them by the looks of it!! Great Job!!!

For what its worth my totem would be a HORSE!!! when I was very young I wanted a horse so bad my mom said that I went as far as acting like one till she finaaly broke down and bought me one!!! LOL okay so I am strange But The facts still to this day remain...... I LOVE HORSES!!!!!

Christina:D

BlackHorseDesign
04-19-2003, 06:23 PM
I'm still waiting to outgrow my desire to be a horse! :D